Posted by: Deanna | February 5, 2008

In Need of a New Name

Things have been a bit crazy around here.

Bill and I are stressed.

Nit-pickin’ each other to death.

Mary staring at us with big blue eyes wondering what’ up with the parents.

Remember that trip to Savannah?

Bill applied for a job with Gulfstream Aerojet and he was offered a position!

Yay!

Ummm…. yeah…Yay! We’re excited! (changing jobs after almost 21 years) Scary! Gotta find a place to live there. Need to go through all the valuables junk in the house. Gotta pack. Gotta get the cat fixed.

Okay, so the cat getting fixed isn’t necessary for yet another move to yet another state, but he’s decided since the house IS his territory he needs to mark every inch of it! Especially Mary’s room because she tortures him the most. So, as I tap away here Oreo is, hopefully, blissfully sedated while the vet removes certain aspects of his personality that will, hopefully, confuse him even more and he will stop peeing all over the house.

And we thought that cat was mad before? He’s going to be royally pis….well, you know.

My dad always said, “Rather be pissed off than pissed on!” I think we will experience both when the sedatives wear off and Oreo finds he’s missing a couple of things.

Yesterday, Bill started in the garage. We have gotten rid of tons of stuff over the last couple of years, but there is still quite a gargantuan pile of treasures in the garage that must find a home elsewhere.

The yardsale fodder is tremendous!

I placed an ad in the local paper hoping to coax some yard sale fiends out this Friday and Saturday with jingling purses of coins, dollar bills and credit cards to relieve us of the future task of finding a place to cart all that junk away.

The packing of the scrapbook stuff shall be my biggest undertaking. The company is providing movers who will come and pack all our belongings, readying them for the trip, but I shall take pity on them and pack up that stuff myself. Of course, now that I must pack the goodies I have an overwhelming urge to sit amidst the paper and pictures and create! Yup, always want what I can’t have.

Mary has been culling the toys and treasures of hers, also. I may have convinced her that since she’s becoming quite a grown up young ladyย she doesn’t need all those toys from her well spent youth, but I have a feeling that once that yard sale sign goes up she will find a few things to take back, professing to not be able to live without them in this trying and stressful time in her life.

Bill’s phone has been ringing non-stop since his announcement to fellow workers last week. Well wishes are plenty after the general astounding remarks such as, “You’re shittin’ me, right?”

He’s very excited about the move in home and carreer. {All hail the new chief inspector of flight worthiness!} (I’m sure that should have been in all caps and bold print, but we’re trying to stay modest here)

The excitement is growing, along with the anxiety, the bickering, and the gray hair.

We just want it done, already.

So here I sit, waiting for the moving company to call me back. I missed the call. I knew I should have brought that phone into the bathroom with me.

Also waiting for the call from the apartment complex where we hope to be moving to. (No, I am NOT buying another house, Bill.)

And thinking that I need to rename the Blog once we move. Gotta ponder on that for a while.

So all those family and friends who need a new page in their address book to jot down another address for us…. sorry.

Responses

  1. I just have you all on sticking notes for now. I don’t want to mess up my new phonebook.

    I knew there was a reason I procrastinated over updating that book. LOL

    Don’t stress too much!

    S

  2. How exciting for you all! Best wishes on your move – that all goes well and stress free!

  3. Congrats on Bill’s new job ๐Ÿ™‚

    As always, your writing makes me smile, grin and even laugh! Thanks for sharing this ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m longing to move, only because I will have a reason to throw junks away.. Hehe…

    Good luck with the moving and finding a new name for your blog… I’d like to blogroll your blog on my personal blog, if you don’t mind. I just addictive to your funny stories ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Sounds like you are going to be having fun for a while. I just love moving, yeah. I hope the new job is everything he hopes. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

