Posted by: Deanna | April 17, 2008

More docs to come

After my initial visit with my new doctor and the several vials of blood they drew, I got a call from the nurse telling me the doctor wanted to see me to discuss the results.

Severe anemia.

Diagnosis: Iron Deficiency Anemia Secondary to Blood Loss (Chronic)

The doc in Florida said I was anemic. Gave me a years worth of iron and never saw me again.

The doc here called me right away. He’s very concerned.

In his own way of explaining just how serious this is he told me, “If someone were in an accident and lost  enough blood to get to the level you’re at now, they wouldn’t get up.”

Yikes!

So, I guess the naps I take every day had a real reason!

He tended to agree.

He wasn’t sure how I was walking around still.

The normal iron range is 28-170.

My result was 14.

So he asked me where all the blood was going? Of course, I couldn’t tell him. I hadn’t noticed any bleeding from the eyes or spontaneous bleeding from anywhere else and I was pretty certain no vampires had visited me lately, but I checked my neck just to be sure.

“Well, it has to be going somewhere.” he tells me, while the intern behind him stood there looking grim.

Okay, so what do we do now?

I have an appointment with another doctor who is going to put a scope down my throat to see if I have any bleeding ulcers, aliens or leeches hanging out in there sucking me dry. Fun.

I’m making Bill go with me.

Responses

  1. Take care
    Thinking of you.

  2. Vampires! You two are a kick. One with too much Iron has to get drained. The other not enough!

    Keep us informed of the results!

    Love ya,

    S


Leave a Reply

Categories

