Posted by: Deanna | June 5, 2008

Sunday Stroll ~~ Part 2

Our intent after leaving the museum was to find the Owens-Thomas House Museum. We headed out around the square, stopped in at the giftshop at the Jepson Center for the Arts, and then went in search of the mansion. Of course, we didn’t think to get a map, or ask where it was, it should be close by, right?

We wandered around, snapping photos, and I related a few of the bits of information I had learned on my trolly tour from the week before.

“Oh look! That’s the IRS building!”

Now, why I remember that one, I don’t know. Maybe it’s because we’ve always stayed in such good contact with the IRS, sending them their allowance every month… don’t ask.

We sat in the shade in this square. Don’t remember which one it is. So much for the history lesson here. But it was cool and shady and we gave our feet a rest.

When we saw this house, we thought it might be what we were looking for, but it wasn’t. It was pretty cool, though. Mary gave us a little history lesson though.

“Do you know what these steps are here for?”

Of course, we didn’t!

“It was the steps put here to climb up into the carriage when it pulled in front of the house!”

Well, I’ll be darned. Pretty smart kid.

Outside a little cafe/coffee shop we found this phone booth. We had to explain what it was to Mary and unfortunately, there was no phone in it, but it made for more goofin’ for the camera. I took full advantage of it.

There are not only dozens of historical homes that the public can see and explore, but many homes that people still reside in today. Some are meticulously maintained, attention to it’s historic detail amazing. Some are in a state of renewal, being worked on. There are, too, the many, many homes that are falling down before our eyes. No one has the will or the finances to keep up all the homes in this wonderfully, historic town. From one street to the next the changes are astounding.

 

Responses

  1. Deanna, hi!
    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Thought I’d stop by and have a wander around yours..
    Dx

  2. I love all the history in places like this. great pictures!

  3. Hello — you visited my WW last week. I just thought I would stop by. The picture of the row of houses is great. They look so perfect and like doll houses to me. I love to build doll houses! Thanks for sharing. It looks like it was a good time!

  4. That phone booth was left from a movie that was filmed there. The movie escapes me right now, but we learned about it ona trolley tour the first time we visted Savannah, and seeing your blog makes me want to go back again! I miss it so. We live in FL and go as often as possible.


Leave a Reply

Categories

