Posted by: Deanna | August 30, 2008

Home and Recovering

Mary was so brave yesterday!

She didn’t want to go to have the surgery on her foot, of course, but she didn’t complain, didn’t whine, didn’t throw herself on the ground kicking and screaming. She gathered herself up, along with her pink poodle, Lucy, and went willingly to the Explorer for the drive to the surgical center.

We got there a bit early, not knowing how long it would take in morning traffic.

The ladies welcomed her with smiles and assurances. We met the anesthesiologist and she was the best! She stayed with us until the doctor came, chatting about this and that and paying special attention to Mary.

They gave Mary the gown to put on. It wasn’t your normal ‘tie in the back and show the world your tushie’ gown. It had two places on it where they hooked up a hose that pushed warm air into the gown to keep her warm! Nifty. The only part of her that was cold was her feet and that was solved with an extra blanket.

We talked about what to expect. She laughed some and cried some, all the while clinging to Bill’s and my hand.

The doctor showed up promptly at 10:30 in his surgical garb, ready to take care of Mary’s poor feet.

I had explained to Mary that Bill and I would not be able to go with her once they wheeled her out of the room we were in. I know she didn’t like that. And it took every ounce of restraint I had in me not to follow her as they went through those double doors. Off she went, clutching Lucy and twisting her hair.

Bill and I just stood there for a moment, not quite knowing what to do. I finally picked up her bag of clothes and heard the nurse there tell me that they would get us from the waiting room as soon as she was back in recovery.

It took only about one agonizing hour for the procedure to be complete. While I was outside, the nurse came in and said that Mary was doing fine and everything was going smoothly. A little while later, the doctor came out to tell us how it went.

He said the planter’s warts were pretty deep, but he got them all out. He said there were some pretty big holes there now, but they should heal up nicely. I was standing and all ready to go back to see Mary, but he said she wasn’t in recovery yet and the nurse would tell me when she was ready.

I thanked the doctor and sat down.

Moments later, Bill said, “Is that Mary?”

I listened, but didn’t hear anything, so I went to the door of the recovery room and inched it open to look inside.

I could hear Mary crying. I stayed there in the doorway watching. I couldn’t see Mary. She was surrounded by nurses.

One was at her feet, wrapping the one foot that had the most work done. Two were on one side with one nurse on the other. Mary was thrashing about on the bed, sitting up, trying to move off the bed, but the nurses were talking to her and gently laying her back down so the nurse wrapping her foot could finish up. She finished and moved her hands out of the way of Mary’s flaying limbs like she’d just finished roping a calf in a rodeo.  I wanted to go over to the bed, but I stayed where I was until they called me. I didn’t sense any real distress or urgency in their mannerisms, so I stayed put, letting them do their job. One nurse finally looked up and saw me there, and as soon as Mary’s foot was completely wrapped, she called me over.

I put my hand on Mary’s face and started talking quietly to her, telling her it was all finished, everything was fine, and she needed to lay still. She didn’t really know what was going on. She pulled the thing off her finger for her pulse and tryed to pull out the I.V., all the while scooting around, sitting up, laying down and rolling all over the bed. The nurse said we may see bruises on her arms and legs. They tried the best they could, but she was all over the place as she was waking up.

Dayna and I are a bit hard to wake up after being under anesthesia. Bill wakes up like he just had a refreshing nap. Mary, apparently, is combative!

It wasn’t long before her eyes cleared up and she layed there looking at us, still not sure what had happened. The foggy expression soon turned into a wide-eyed look of “What the hell is going on!”

It wasn’t long before we were getting Mary dressed and she was wheeled out to the parking lot for her ride home.

She sat comfortable in the back seat, quietly looking out the window and twisting her hair. As we got closer to home she finally spoke,

“I’m hungry.”

We stopped at the pharmacy to pick up her meds, swung by the doctor’s office to see why her crutches weren’t delivered, and decided to go to Cheddar’s for lunch. Mary thought she would be fine, so we helped her hop from the car to the door of the restaurant and set her down on a bench right inside the door. We thought since she’d be stuck in the house all weekend we’d have lunch out while she was still under the effects of the pain meds she got there during the surgery!

Home, at last, and we got Mary situated on the couch, where she was going to be spending a lot of time for a while. I had to go out again. With the mix up over the crutches, I decided to just go pick them up from the company that was supposed to deliver them. It was, of course, all the way across town near Memorial Hospital. Oh well. From there I headed over to Best Buy to pick up Mary’s birthday present. Her clock radio that played CD’s quit, so I bought her a little ‘boom box’ so she could have music in her room. I didn’t think they made them anymore! I had a hard time finding one that wasn’t freakishly huge.

Back to Pooler and a stop at Sam’s Club for a couple goodies Mary was looking at before, and then across the street to WalMart for something easy for dinner. Of course, I forgot to get the gauze, tape and extra supples to rebandage her feet while I was there. So I was out again later looking for that.

The evening went well. I expected Mary to sleep some once we got settled down for the evening, but she was awake for a long, long,    long      long   time.

We brought her bed downstairs, pushed the couches around and set her up so she would (hopefully) be comfortable. Before ‘lights out’, she grabbed her crutches and headed to bathroom. Once she got in there I hear a slightly panicked voice,

“Mom! I think my foot is bleeding!”

I hurry over to the bathroom and the floor has red splotches all over it and the bandage on her foot is seeping. Bill had already gone up to bed, so I told Mary to sit still and I would go get her dad. He would have to take care of this so mom would not be found unconscious on the bathroom floor under Mary’s seeping foot.

Bill came down and started unwrapping her foot as she sat on the toilet, clearly afraid. He talked to her soothingly and told her not to look. I got on the phone to the nurse who had given me her card. I woke her up, but she was very kind and told me that it was normal, just clean it up and rebandage it. That’s what Bill was doing.

He got a look at the wound from the surgery. After hearing from the doctor that there were some ‘pretty big holes down there’, he wanted to know exactly how big. He told me later that it wasn’t as bad as he had thought.

He cleaned her all up, we got her back to her bed, feet propped up and iced and hoped she would be able to go to sleep.

She didn’t.

I think she was up most of the night. I woke up occasionally and glanced over at her. Sometimes she had her flashlight pointed at her book and she was reading. Sometimes she was just laying there twisting her hair. And a couple times I’m sure she had dozed off for a while.

The rest of this weekend she’ll be stuck in the livingroom, watching movies, coloring or whatever else she can do from her bed or the couch. I brought her a big, brand new box of crayons last night. She grinned from ear to ear and started singing, “Happy Birthday to me! Happy Birthday to me!” 

Her birthday is Tuesday. This also happens to be the first day of school. Should prove to be interesting.

Responses

  1. Mary I am so glad it is all over and done with. You are such a brave little girl, I don’t think I could have done what you did. I am a big chicken when it comes to things like that. I am glad you liked your flower. We will all be talking to you soon.

    We love and miss you all,
    Tracy, Chris, Chealsea, Taylor, Chrissy and Cameron Jossi, and can’t forget, Peaches and Snowflake too


Leave a Reply

Categories

