Posted by: Deanna | May 11, 2009

Walkin’ Again!

Made it through the weekend! No fan fare. No big celebrations. Just a quiet weekend, pretty much.

We had planned on going to Charleston on Saturday, a day out of town to celebrate the anniversary, my birthday and Mother’s Day, but it didn’t work out.

Friday my back went out. Could hardly walk. All movement was accompanied by the gutteral moan that I was powerless to prevent. It hurt, darn it!

Saturday Bill and Mary hovered around waiting most of the day to see if I might recover enough to have a late afternoon picnic, but it wasn’t happening. I slept, downed ibuprophen and sat with the heating pad on my back, hoping that Sunday would be better and I could hobble somewhere.

The morning came and I was better, but I really didn’t see me going much of anywhere. I didn’t think I could get down the steps to the car without incident, so I convinced Bill that he and Mary should go out to Tybee, play in the water and sand and enjoy the picnic we missed the day before.

Mary had mixed feelings about going. She doesn’t like to leave someone home. I knew I couldn’t navigate the sand down to the beach even if all I would do is sit in the chair and take in the scenery. They finally gathered everything up and off they went, leaving me with my heating pad and the tv remote. I was perfectly happy. I needed to just NOT do anything to get better, so I did.

Today I’m doing much, much better. I was able to take Bill to work and Mary to school without any excruciating pain as I got in and out of the car. I am still going to be careful about what I do. The laundry is going, the news is on and later I plan on popping in another movie.

Around two I’m off to Mary’s school to share in Muffins for Moms, their Mother’s Day celebration. It’ll be fun. We’ll see if it’s better than Donuts for Dad’s from a while back. You can read about that day here.  I must say, though, that Dad sees more of Miss Moody than I do.

Hope everyone had a wonderful Mother’s Day! I’m off to pet the cats. Cuz they’re laying on the bed. And while I do that, I can lay down, too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

